November 2016 Release New Feature Review #2

November 2016 Release New Feature Review #2

Part One of this series of what’s new in the November 2016 release release can be found here.

Continuing our review of new features in the latest version of the Oracle Policy Automation family, OPA 12 – November 2016 Release; some of the most interesting new features concern the user interface as we were discussing last time round. There are a couple of things I want to applaud loudly (having often spent time making them happen in earlier versions).

  • The ability to create image groups. We have all seen them on modern websites. Instead of a row of radio buttons or a list, we have icons. The icons have two states : clicked or unclicked. The user “gets the idea” in about 2 seconds flat:

These now can be created purely from the Oracle Policy Modeler interface. No more need for image sprites, CSS or anything else. I am disappointed though that the “hover” state is not supported.

  • Slider Controls. The ability to map a numeric attribute to a slider, complete with upper and lower bounds. That is cool and takes another mess of JavaScript off our shoulders.
OPA 12 – November 2016 Release

The slider and the image group are just two of the new graphical features. The third one I am going to talk about today also will make our lives (and those of our consumers) much more fun. The capability to have dynamic update of an attribute, live, on the same screen as the source attributes, is very nice indeed. The November 2016 release is shaping up to help Interview designers!

I don’t think it will make a huge difference in a lot of cases, but if you can do it, and you don’t need to have rafts of JavaScript any more, I’m in!

OPA 12 – November 2016 Release

In the example above, changing the values in the area (1) changes the value in (2) with no change of page. JavaScript and jQuery we love you!

Next time we will look at some great new features in the back end of OPA 12 – November 2016 Release! Until then, have a great day! Remember that you can always find the latest news of what is new in Oracle Policy Automation / Intelligent Advisor in the official documentation right here.

Richard Napier

Author: Richard Napier

Richard Napier joined Siebel Systems in 1999 and took up the role of managing the nascent Siebel University in Southern Europe. He subsequently was Director of Business Development and Education for InFact Group (now part of Business & Decisions) for 8 years. He now runs Intelligent Advisor IT Consulting OÜ. Owner of intelligent-advisor.com, he also is Co-Founder of the Siebel Hub.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Worldwide
Logo by Southpaw Projects LLC